New Style esa, uc and lcwra — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

New Style esa, uc and lcwra

dreamwarrior
dreamwarrior Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hi, I'm new to all this benefit stuff. Fell ill in July 2023 with undiagnosed (still) vasovagal syncope. As I was self employed was advised to apply for new style ESA which I did, Was then advised to apply for UC. I've been awarded LCWRA but I have some confusion if I need to cancel the ESA and just stay with UC, or is there benefits to keep the ESA. I've had nothing to indicate I'm in the support group for ESA as yet  but getting the back pay for lcwra today via UC. I'm aware the money received is just countered out £1 per £1 depending on the benefit received.

Another issue I have is because I go randomly unconscious up to 8 times a day my wife is there to safeguard me, was refused daily PIP but got enhanced mobility. So my wife cant claim carers allowance, I only got 4 points so is it worth the hassle and stress of MR and appeal. My wife is with me most of the time but UC say she has to find work, despite having a fit note stating carer strain. If she has to find a job and to work I'm basically risking my life on my own. Citizens advice was to write to my MP. 
I would be grateful for any help and advise on what's best to do. Thanks.
Mike.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 49,767 Disability Gamechanger