Question about ESA and/or Universal Credit — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Question about ESA and/or Universal Credit

Options
PendularSand
PendularSand Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hi, my name's Amie. I'm a medium/high support needs autistic, who also has other conditions that effect my day to day life. 

I'm currently a student who's on PIP and DSA, but a full time degree is becoming too much for me (I am in my second year right now). My partner, who is my primary carer and lives with me on campus, suggests I suspend my studies to see if I can do the freelance work I have been training for, as I don't fit into any traditional workplaces.

Problem is, I struggle with even freelance work, as I cannot manage my own finances, struggle talking to clients and have meltdowns often. I love making art- but the career aspect of it just seems purely out of reach for me. If it turns out I take a gap year and don't continue my studies later, would I have to apply for Universal Credit (and go to a work capability assessment) or ESA?

I would like to live with my partner again eventually because I would have to move back home with my parents if I took a gap year, as currently our student loans pay for our rent. But i know that affects Universal credit? I have under 16k in capitol, but if I did go on UC and then was able to move back in with my partner what would that mean? Is it easier/and or possible to go on ESA instead?
Tagged:

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,395 Disability Gamechanger
    edited November 2023