Acceptable WCA evidence — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Acceptable WCA evidence

Options
Toni0831
Toni0831 Community member Posts: 9 Listener
Hi

UC have now informed that they will send out a form for me to fill in and conduct an assessment. I assume the form will arrive in the next few days. I have mentioned in previous posts that I struggled for a number of years and have been reluctant to seek help before. I'm new to the whole process. I have mental health problems and a noticeable deformity.

Other than explaining my mental health problems on the form, what evidence can I provide? 

I have read online that a letter from a GP isn't helpful as supporting evidence. I was referred to mental health services and have seen the nurse once so far. I'm waiting for counselling sessions, but who knows how long that will take. 

Is it worth me asking my GP and hospital consultants for my medical records and sending what is appropriate when I complete the form?

I have also read that although the DWP ask for details of the GP and others involved in your care, they do not always contact them for more information. I want to try my best to provide them with all the information and save myself from more stress.

Thank you

Tagged:

Comments

• JaneCowell
    JaneCowell Community member Posts: 25 Listener
    Options
    You could ask the nurse to write a letter saying you have seen them and are on the waiting list for counselling. They may or may not do it.