Newbie here! LCW – advice please! — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Newbie here! LCW – advice please!

Options
Jenny_Palmer
Jenny_Palmer Community member Posts: 8 Listener
Hi everyone!

Long time lurker, first-time poster to this fabulous Scope forum. Before anything else, I just want to say thank you so much for all the work you do!

So, I have Cerebral Palsy and as a result, chronic tendonitis and chronic neurological fatigue that has made moving around almost impossible these days. I used to be reasonably mobile before the tendonitis kicked off in late 2022 and it's slowly ebbed away and my balance and walking. Oh and did I mention I have chronic pelvic pain too?!

The constant pain has left me warn and drained (as I'm sure too many are familiar with here!) and as a result, I keep falling indoors, outdoors and in my work setting - it's resulted in 3x visits to the ER over recent months – and I just can't work to the same capacity until my body heals a bit. I can't walk more than 5-10 meters without 'furniture grabbing' indoors to stay upright and no more than 20/30 with my Kaye Walker (no distance at all unaided outdoors) indoors or out without needing to stop due to discomfort and tiredness. I work at the moment but also get PIP and a small bit of UC but going into the office as I do, even a couple of days a week has now become so, so tough as a result - I'm scared of the damage to the bit of mobility I have left which is what has prompted me to try for a WCA.