EHCP Help re. Activity outside borough and personal budget queries

Teens25
Teens25 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited August 24 in Education and skills

I am supporting a friend with her son’s EHCP review because English is not her first language. I have no experience in this. She has found a new activity/place she wants her son to go in the autumn, this would be in addition to his college.  The reason being they offer more practical tasks, mentoring and therapy with animals and horticulture, lots of things that are really supportive of his autism and these aren’t offered at his current college.  I am concerned that this activity, although in the same county, is outside the local authority borough and I have no idea whether this in itself means that she can’t even present this new provision at the review?  If she was able to secure personal budget for her son (although also have no idea how she gets that), would that allow her to spend the personal budget wherever she deems fit, if it supports his EHCP plan, so by getting around the issue of this Centre not being in the same local authority borough? Any help anyone can offer would be greatly received. I’m feeling out of my depth and feel that she is now looking at me to be a bit of an expert on this , I have googled my questions but cannot find an answer.  I need people with lived experience and more knowledge than I to advise,  thank you to all that chip in!

Comments

• Albus_Scope
    Albus_Scope Posts: 6,910 Online Community Coordinator

Hi there @Teens25 and a belated welcome to the community!

Sorry to see the community haven't been able to support you with your problem. Has this been resolved yet?

• Doris_Scope
    Doris_Scope Scope Family Services Posts: 135 Family Services

Hi @Teens25