mum of 2 - one with spastic CP — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

mum of 2 - one with spastic CP

MrsM
MrsM Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hello All

I am new to this and have been advised that I need to talk to parents that are in a similar situation to myself.

My daughter is now nearly 7, she was born 15 weeks early...yep not a typo that is 15 weeks...she is an amazing lil fighter but as a result of this she has spastic CP and epilepsy, and if I am being completely honest I think she may have other learning worries.

As all parents you just want to protect your children and keep them safe, but as a parent to a disabled child you are sometimes at a loss to help them and there's nothing you can do to help.

My daughter has just had surgery and has been in a wheelchair and I have just got her a frame with wheels to help her to be up and about, I am proud of her and how far she has come in her short 6 years but there are frustrating and hard times and some times all I want to do is run away and hide and cry for a while.
So I guess all I want to know is am I normal in feeling like this??
How can I do more and help her be the best she can without getting frustrated when she doesn't want to even try things for me??

Thanks for listening...Hope someone can help or just talk to me.

MrsMx

Comments

• Sam_Toucan
    Sam_Toucan Community member Posts: 24 Connected
    I don't think you're the only one who wants to run away and cry! I know I feel that way sometimes I bet everyone else on here does too from time to time.