Holiday in FE term time — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Holiday in FE term time

jue123
jue123 Community member Posts: 6 Listener
Hiya I am a newbie

Our son is 20 years old, with non-verbal ASD, Epilepsy, sleeping disorder and has lots of care needs and attends a college for learning difficulties.

We have booked a holiday to Florida in May as we don't get respite or anything. The thing is we can't go in the summer holidays as it is too hot 90 C and it creates further medical problems like severe dehydration for our son.

I haven't told the college yet about our holiday booking, do you think we will be fined? or does it apply to school age pupils?

I feel like an ASBO!!! He will be absent for 9 days.

Any information would be appreciated

Comments

• Kress
    Kress Community member Posts: 4 Listener
    Hi there!  Sounds like you're going to have an amazing time!

My understanding is that this only applies to students upto the age of 16 because missing days impacts upon students being able to get good GCSEs. Also, many councils have slightly relaxed the rules on fines after a parent successfully argued in court against the fine last year.

If, by some chance this does apply to your son, the headteachers are able to give permission in 'exceptional circumstances' - so you could also argue this if you needed to.
  • Alex
    Alex Posts: 1,305 Pioneering
    Hi, I think @Kress is right - the law only applies to younger students.