Anyone experienced in disability issues in academia, or research work? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Anyone experienced in disability issues in academia, or research work?

kellyj17
kellyj17 Community member Posts: 8 Listener
I went back into education as a reaction partially to my condition, which stops me doing much manual work (I was a gardener/tree surgeon). (initially it was thought to be carpal tunnel but after unsuccessful surgery and a myriad of tests of all sorts, I still have no clue. basically pain and loss of sensation in hands affecting function and dexterity)
Unfortunately my condition has got worse, and I'm having a lot of trouble with typing notetaking etc. However I have excelled academically, and am halfway through a masters degree.

I love research and I'm good at it, but the sheer amount of data processing, does cause me concern for future employment. I can't really work set hours, my own schedule i'm able to accommodate breakingup tasks etc. Plus as a disabled student I get extensions when necessary.
That won't apply in a work environment though!

Also due to having IBS and a strictly controlled diet scheduled, I have problems attending events, and conferences etc. I'm worried about my career regarding this, as the networking side seems to be the way to get ahead at the moment.

I wonder if anyone can give me any advice?

Comments

• Stayce
    Stayce Community member, CP Network Posts: 843 Pioneering
    edited May 2017
    Hi @kellyj17
    I understand your concerns. I work in a research and development role with a disability.