Expressing Type 1 diabetes through art — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Expressing Type 1 diabetes through art

Options
PoppyNash
PoppyNash Community member Posts: 1 Listener

My name is Poppy and I am a visual artist originally from London, and working and living in Glasgow. I came up to go to the Glasgow School of Art and have never left because I love it so much. I use mainly textile printing as my medium, but I also like paper printing and sewing.

Next year will be my 20th anniversary of being diabetic.  It feels like a long time.  About four years ago, I went through a stressful period.  It was during my final year at Art School and my sugar levels were going bananas - but I knew I had to make some work for my degree show - but I felt so ill and so consumed with all this diabetes nonsense. I had just read Yayoi Kusama's book called ‘Infinity Nets’ where she talks about repeating words because the repetition takes the fear out of them, so I just sat down and started writing out my blood test results: I sat at my desk for about a week, and just wrote out numbers.  And somehow I liked it and it made me feel better. So then I started printing the numbers.  Then I started making those printed numbers into clothing.  And here I am four years later and I have just finished a commission from ‘Shape Arts’ essentially based on drawing out numbers and using them as a way of communicating the intrusive nature of diabetes and how it affects every aspect of your life.

headshot of woman with short blonde hair wearing a black and white stripy shirt