Any help to get an electric bed? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Any help to get an electric bed?

hunnybunny123
hunnybunny123 Community member Posts: 13 Connected
I would like to know if I can get he!p from mobility for  a electric bed, as I have fibromyalga, spondolisis and osteoarthritis. I have been sleeping in my chair for nearly 9 months. I can't lay flat in bed, I have tried different pillows and bed rests, who h doesn't work as it gets in my husband's way.

Comments

• Lasian_Alumni
    Lasian_Alumni Community member Posts: 659 Pioneering
    Hi @hunnybunny123

Have you talked to your GP about getting a referral to an occupational therapist? They can help you with getting the equipment and aids that you need. I'm not sure about an electric bed specifically, but it could be good to hear their suggestions  :)
  • Jean_OT
    Jean_OT Community member Posts: 513 Pioneering

Hi @hunnybunny123

Welcome to the community.

By 'mobility' do you mean the mobility component of PIP? If so and you have been awarded the benefit you can spend it on whatever you wish, you are not restricted on how you decide to spend it.

It sounds as if it would be very wise to have an assessment by the Community Occupational Therapist (OT) to determine what aids or adaptations may be appropriate for you. You could ask your GP for a referral or just self refer. You will be able to contact the OT via the Social Care department of your local authority.