Employment and Support Allowance (ESA)
If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Newbie would appreciate some advice

Hello all.

I am a newbie who would really appreciate some advice about ESA.

I have just heard (over the telephone) that my ESA medical has found me fit for work.

I scored 6 points for occasionally losing consciousness.

I believe I am not fit for work for the following reasons for which I have an indefinite sick note from my doctor;

·      I am registered partially sighted and have no peripheral vision and limited main vision.

·      I have chronic arthritis and find it difficult to grip things.

·      I have Asperger’s Syndrome which means being in places with bright lights, loud sounds and lots of people is very distressing.

·      I have labile diabetes controlled with an insulin pump.  I lose consciousness at least once a month because of this.

·      I have gastroparesis. This means my stomach cannot digest food properly.  It leads to bloating and vomiting and adds to the poor diabetic control.

·      I have a mild cognitive deficit.  My wife will not allow me out on my own as I sometimes forget to check roads are clear before crossing plus I can’t see all that well anyway.

·      I have proximal, peripheral and autonomic neuropathy.  This causes pain in my legs, I can’t easily move from sitting to standing and means I cannot regulate my body temperature anymore – I am permanently too hot.

·      I have Raynaud’s phenomonen – Cold fingers and toes.  It can be difficult to move them.

Generally I stay at home unless I can go out with someone.  I can manage to read my Kindle on its largest text setting but keep forgetting where I am so have to keep re-reading.  At least this means a book lasts a long time!  I am unable to perform any physical activity after eating as my blood sugar crashes and I have a hypo or lose consciousness.