Advice for looking for a homeworking graduate job — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Advice for looking for a homeworking graduate job

phantasmalblaze
phantasmalblaze Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited September 2018 in Work and employment

Hello, I have a very particular query and I am unsure where to turn for advice as nobody has been able to help me so far.

I am a final year undergraduate student whom is trying to work out how to get into the world of work from home. I am autistic and have ADHD. Because of this I'm not able to handle full time work in the workplace. This is because I need a very particular working environment to be able to work. Hence I have to work from home to stand any chance of getting a career. 

I am aware that I can request this as a reasonable adjustment under the Equality Act 2010 if I land a job in the workplace. However I know that it is unlikely this will happen due to how frequently employers discriminate during the hiring process (and my visible autistic traits will work against me). Instead, I intend to look for specific jobs where the work is done remotely with only occasional in-person meetings or commutes if required.

A lot of dedicated work-from-home positions I've seen online require experience and are aimed at older people and parents. I will be 22 when I graduate and have limited experience in the workplace so I am far from the ideal candidate. I am unsure where I can find homeworking graduate jobs for young people. I need stable work hence would rather not try to freelance.