Disability Premium question — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Disability Premium question

zacthezebra
zacthezebra Community member Posts: 36 Courageous
Hi everyone I hope someone may be able to give me some advice. This is quite complicated but I will do my best to explain as clearly as possible sorry for the long post.

I was migrated from IB to CB ESA early 2012 and placed in the support group. I had been receiving incapacity benefit for 6 years when I was migrated.
My award was as follows.
Living expenses £67.50
Support group £32.35
Total income-related amount £99.85
It then says "however because you are entitled to contribution -based ESA we will pay you" £154.60
The letter says  £54.75 is a top up payment so I won't receive less than I did on IB.

I believed there should have been a income based top up so early 2013 I filled in an ESA3 form.
My award after the ESA3 form was changed to this.
Living expenses £111.45
Extra money because of the Disability income guarantee £21.30
Support group £34.05
Total income-related amount £166.80
The letter states this is an income related amount.
I didn't think you could be moved to income based ESA from CB without a break in your claim so called the DWP.
I was told my claim was contribution based with an income based top up. I didn't think anymore about it and was glad of the extra money.
During this claim my wife used to tick the back of my prescriptions that we received income based ESA. This will become important later.