The journey of being a disabled student and lecturer — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

The journey of being a disabled student and lecturer

StephHannamSwain
StephHannamSwain Community member Posts: 1 Listener

My name is Steph and I am a full-time wheelchair user. I have a background in psychology and I’m currently doing my PhD (part-time) looking at disabled people and self-harm. Alongside this I work for a university and have just been lucky enough to secure a full-time permanent contract as Lecturer in Education, which I love! Although I acknowledge some difficulties with the social model of disability, my discovery of a new way of thinking about my experiences has been very liberating and given me a passion for driving societal change.

My dual status of 'disabled student' and 'disabled employee' puts me in a fairly unique position because I can see how the different challenges that some disabled students and some disabled employees experience are navigated within the different systems. I have to admit that my experience as a disabled student has been vastly different to one as a disabled employee which in a way came as a surprise to me as perhaps I could be forgiven for thinking that the experiences would be similar within the same organisation?