Advanced payment — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Advanced payment

liam120318
liam120318 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Can enyone please tell me,ive been claming universal credit for 7 months passed my medical had an advance payment the maximum at the beginning of my claim. However i have payed back over half of this back now. My question is my partner has just been added to my claim does this mean she will be entitled to a n advance payment also or will she not get ononee? We are both worried about this as surely we should be treated as 1 person but get separate money to live!? Can soneone please let me no thank you very much in advance.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,355 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,

You claim Universal credit as a couple but you don't get separate money to live on, you receive slightly more standard allowance per month. If you're both over 25 then standard allowance is £498.89 per month, is instead of £317. 82.

If you are both under 25 then standard allowance is £395.20 instead of £251.77.

As you already have outstanding money owed on an advance payment then you won't be able to have another until that's all paid off.

Hope this helps.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Adrian_Scope
    Adrian_Scope Posts: 10,821 Scope online community team
    Hi @liam120318.