Housing issues disabled parent — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Housing issues disabled parent

janemidwood
janemidwood Community member Posts: 3 Listener
hi I’m new to this but seeking advice, my dad had a stroke in June and has been left unable to walk assisted. My parents are in rented accommodation which is now not suitable as he cannot get out of their flat which has 3 steps. We have registered fir housing, but yesterday was told they would not qualify as they have sold a house in France , they do not have the money yet and when they do it will be £40k which is above the threshold for housing. We have been searching for suitable accommodation fir months, and not found anything within their budget. My dad is totally fed up now as all they need is a ground floor flat with a walk in shower but if the council will not accommodate who can they go to? 

Comments

• Ails
    Ails Community member Posts: 2,256 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @janemidwood and welcome to the Community.  It is nice to meet you and thank you for sharing with us.  I am sorry to hear of your dad's stroke and the problem with housing that your parents face.  Have you tried contacting your local Citizens' Advice Bureau for advice?  I'm sorry, but I'm unable to suggest anything else at this point, but some other members of our Community maybe able to offer some other advice or one of our Community Team.  I hope you get something sorted out for your dad and can understand his frustrations about this.  Please keep in touch and let us know how you get on.  Good luck with it!  :smile: