advise with new sky+ hd box — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.

advise with new sky+ hd box

deb74
deb74 Member Posts: 782 Pioneering
 Hi all. I have just bought a new sky box and after 2 days it is still initialising. Is there anything I can do to make it initialise any faster. I have been on the sky website and it says that it should only take 2 hrs. I am a complete technophobe. thanks in advance.
«1

Comments

  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Member Posts: 31,369 Disability Gamechanger
    edited January 2020
    HI,

    The best thing to do is to ring sky customer services and they will be able to help you. I also found this. https://www.sky.com/help/articles/sky-box-is-initialising

  • deb74
    deb74 Member Posts: 782 Pioneering
  • thespiceman
    thespiceman Member Posts: 6,389 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @deb74   Did you know SKY have an accessibility unit in the company.

    This means members like our community can ring up and they discuss any problems, issues with SKY services.

    You need to ask for it and then they can help you.

    Useful if you bought new products from SKY.

    I believe also might ask if you need some one to guide you through anything, could mean a charge if they need to come to your home.

    Please ask, I have new laptop contacted them, advice and guidance.

    Also offer other assistance security, viruses, back up etc.

    Many companies have this you have to ask though.

    Other ones are Utilities .

    SKY accessibility Unit number is

    0344 241 0333

    All staff are trained some like us this community. Pleasant chat other day, great to know.

    Please take care.

    @thespiceman
    Community Champion
    SCOPE Volunteer Award Engaging Communities 2019
    Mental Health advice, guidance and information to all members
    Nutrition, Diet, Wellbeing, Addiction.
    Recipes
  • Adrian_Scope
    Adrian_Scope Posts: 8,578 Scope online community team
    Did you manage to get it resolved @deb74
    Community Manager
    Scope

    Tell us how to make the community better for you. Complete our feedback form.
  • deb74
    deb74 Member Posts: 782 Pioneering
    Hi @ thespiceman. I didn't buy the box off sky. I bought it off amazon.
  • deb74
    deb74 Member Posts: 782 Pioneering
    Hi @Adrian_Scope. I haven't managed to fix it yet but I will try again tomorrow.
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Member Posts: 31,369 Disability Gamechanger
    Are you a sky customer? If so then give them a ring and they will help you. If not then try taking the plug out and leaving it out for a while. Plug it back in and try again. If that doesn't work then you'll need to contact the person you bought it from because it could be faulty.
  • deb74
    deb74 Member Posts: 782 Pioneering
    HI @poppy123456. No I am not a sky customer. if I can't fix it I will get in touch with seller. Thanks 
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Member Posts: 31,369 Disability Gamechanger
    edited January 2020
    This maybe the problem. You can access the freeview channels with a box but you'll need a dish and a viewing card to access some of the freeview channels, do you have both of those?
  • Geoark
    Geoark Member, Scope Volunteer Posts: 1,388 Disability Gamechanger
    @deb74 do you have it connected to a satellite dish? If it isn't it won't initialise. If it is connected to a working satellite dish it could be your dish is not aligned properly.

    As an individual I stood alone.
    As a member of a group I did things.
    As part of a community I helped to create change!

  • deb74
    deb74 Member Posts: 782 Pioneering
    HI @Geoark. Were I live everything was switched to digital years ago. normal tv areals  don't work so everyone has to use a satellite dish. The dish is fine! I will see if I can get it to work today.  
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Member Posts: 31,369 Disability Gamechanger
    The digital switch over took place for everyone in the whole of the UK in 2012.
  • deb74
    deb74 Member Posts: 782 Pioneering
    Hi Poppy12345. Where I live the digital change over was in 2009. You can't even use freeview where I live!
  • thespiceman
    thespiceman Member Posts: 6,389 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @deb74   Sorry to hear this.

    Spoken to SKY asked for a package the basic the cost.

    Done it all for you even though you have one, not expensive the package as you think.

    Put in a new box, satellite check coverage, is this OK the right place for your satellite dish can be altered,wires, plugs in the dish, box, viewing card.

    Do and tune the TV correctly.

    Clean up tidy up hoover the mess if any.

    All these companies have back up, some one to contact any problems no charge included in package.

    If ever want to leave often have deals on and makes you an offer.

    Heard of six months free and then sign up another contract.

    You can always ask any deals any offers.

    I know can be dauting I do though have done.

    Problem is you bought off AMAZON, I do buy from them but not many items electrical just wary.

    AMAZON gets a lot of products from China, bought recently CD player.

    Been a lot of the products from China as they might not  be the genuine article who knows my concern.

    Had on it Philips, the brand name but the box was all Chinese lettering works fine.

    Cost not a lot, never buy not known brands, so many.

    Once bought some jeans.  Has the label well know brand but the package arrived with Chinese lettering on labels.

    Been a big issue in the on line community those who shop like me. WHICH magazine recommend to all community members usually a lot to say about AMAZON.

    Certain area of China now the biggest industrial complex in the World.

    Many retailers get there products there including Supermarkets certain ones, as well on line shops.

    With anything you buy on line do some research, sit down take notes look around other companies.

    Are they the offers the selling to be good to be true.

    I bulk buy the named brands as I have done saved a fortune, many of them too expensive in supermarkets.

    One other point checkatrade.com. website often good TV satellite installers give you a better deal if you wish to if you can not afford SKY.

    Fixed an new aerial last year. Found this gent on line.

    Came to home, fixed aerial offered me a deal to put an fix a satellite if I need to , plus box viewing card.

    Cheaper than SKY.

    Just a thought.

    Please if you have any questions about your coverage there are a lot of information on line.

    Please take care.

    @thespiceman









    Community Champion
    SCOPE Volunteer Award Engaging Communities 2019
    Mental Health advice, guidance and information to all members
    Nutrition, Diet, Wellbeing, Addiction.
    Recipes
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Member Posts: 31,369 Disability Gamechanger
    deb74 said:
    . You can't even use freeview where I live!

    That makes no sense because without being a sky customer, that's what you're trying to do, using freeview through the sky box. If you were previously using a sky box before you bought the new one then i'd contact the person you bought it from because there maybe a problem with the box. If you weren't then it could be your dish. Hope you get it sorted.
  • thespiceman
    thespiceman Member Posts: 6,389 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @deb74   Been on line lots on companies wishing to look at your TV aerial. Coverage problems need to look.

    B.B.C . offer a service.

    Curry's on website could do the same contact them their fit a satellite box and every thing else might need.

    Please take care.

    @thespiceman
    Community Champion
    SCOPE Volunteer Award Engaging Communities 2019
    Mental Health advice, guidance and information to all members
    Nutrition, Diet, Wellbeing, Addiction.
    Recipes
  • Chloe_Scope
    Chloe_Scope Scope Posts: 10,545 Disability Gamechanger
    I really hope you managed to get this sorted @deb74! :)
    Scope

  • deb74
    deb74 Member Posts: 782 Pioneering
    Thanks everyone for the advise!
  • April2018mom
    April2018mom Posts: 2,872 Connected
    Hello and welcome

    Ring Sky and ask to speak with customer services. Or you can try researching the problem online to see if anyone else had the same problem and how it was fixed. I hope this is useful! 
  • Seanchai
    Seanchai Member Posts: 411 Pioneering
    hi Deb74 ....I think that you may have expected to connect your sky box ( from amazon) and be up and running ? 
     I,m afraid if you have not purchased a sky package (from sky) the you will not get the box to work . Please phone sky and see what they say , their packages can run from around £25 a month to well over £100 a month depending on what you wish to view on your TV . 
    Good luck and please let us know how you get on . ?

Brightness

Complete our feedback form and tell us how we can make the community better.