Chiari Malformation PIP fail — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Chiari Malformation PIP fail

Options
Asiya
Asiya Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hello I have suffered greatly with Chiari for nearly 3 years and feel like I have not been taken seriously by health professionals and even declined PIP. I suffer with pain severe pain, migraine, numbness and pins and needles in my limbs, blurred vision and dizziness and require a lot of help from family. I used to work as a nurse, but due to this illness I am home as a single parent struggling financially.
Does anyone know of any organisations or support groups that can help with my PIP claim please, as I am lost and considering appealing to a tribunal. 

Comments

• chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,103 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @Asiya - I just wanted to welcome you to the community as I also have Chiari 1 Malformation & know how much it impacts on my life too. Chiari 1 Malformation can be poorly understood, but, as emphasised above, PIP isn't based on any diagnosis, but how this is disabling relating to the descriptors.
    You have received great advice above, which I'm sure you'll find helpful. If you have any questions, there's usually someone here who will try & help/advise. :)
  • deb74
    deb74 Community member Posts: 814 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi @Asiya. I went to the citizens advice. They were very helpful and helped me fill in the forms for my pip application.
  • Asiya
    Asiya Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Options