Stigma — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Stigma

Francis_theythem
Francis_theythem Community member Posts: 120 Pioneering
I just had my PIP reassessment and I'm genuinely sick and tired of people thinking of ME as being tired all the time. I know that research, advocacy and research are probably the only ways to get round this but I actually despise the stigma we have to put up with.
I'm very low functioning but I honestly just want ME to be taken seriously for what it is and respected. I'm a philosophy undergraduate but maybe I should go and do ME research based on phenomenology (the study of experience in philosophy). But I'm super low functioning and also anxiety at actually doing anything unique. What do you think?

Comments

• Cher_Alumni
    Cher_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,741 Disability Gamechanger
    edited November 2020
    Hi @Francis_theythem How did you feel it went overall?

Yep, some conditions really are steeped in misconceptions that reduce them down to just one facet of their reality.  I personally think much more needs to be done about M.E. awareness as I know I'm guilty too for associating it largely with tiredness.  

As for your idea of doing research, I'm here to cheerlead you all the way.  Most research projects are born of something personal and your study would help enhance understandings of M.E. and also could maybe probe why it is not taken serious at a political level.