Photography Business? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Photography Business?

[Deleted User]
[Deleted User] Posts: 1,651 Connected
Above.

Because last year I did a Diploma in Digital Photography, and have some experience of it, I'd like to try and earn some loot from stuff like Wedding photos and that.

Obviously I can't run a Business from the Flat, but would I be able to work remotely? Taking photos at other folks' places? Maybe charge 50 quid a session and use my own camera equipment? I'll admit the equipment's probably a bit basic, a cheap camera I bought from CEX about 18 months ago, but it still works and takes good photos and videos.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Tori_Scope
    Tori_Scope Scope Posts: 12,488 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @MrAllen1976! I don't know a great deal about the processes involved in becoming self-employed, but Scope have a page on setting yourself up as self-employed which you might like to read.

For creative industries such as photography, it's often a good idea to have a portfolio that you can show to potential clients. Have you taken lots of pictures on your camera? Perhaps you could pick out your best ones and put a little something together so that if someone asks what style of photographs you take, you'll have something to show them (if you haven't done this already)? 

What kinds of photos would you like to take? 
    National Campaigns Officer, she/her

Join our call for an equal future.
  • [Deleted User]
    edited February 2021