Overthinking of the future — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Overthinking of the future

Options
ssutton1998
ssutton1998 Community member Posts: 24 Connected
Hello everyone, my name is Sam im 23 years old and have cerebral palsy, im currently studying to be a teacher assistant level 2 at college and level 3 next year. My passion is to work as a teacher as an assistant for children in need full-time. I'm been overthinking that I won't get a job that I wanted to do due to GCSE maths and English where my grade is low and I have to serve learning difficulties and im very scared that I would not able to work as a TA it my passion I want to make a difference. All I want is that Job nothing else. If there any teaching assistants out there. Is true that you got to have a GCSE Maths and English in every school/college. That all I think about working as a Ta im very worried about my future. Thank you, to everyone taking their time to read.

Kind regards Sam

Comments

• Tori_Scope
    Tori_Scope Scope Posts: 12,492 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @ssutton1998 :) That's a great job choice!

You can read a little bit about the routes into being a TA on the National Careers Service website. This states that:
    You can get into this job through:
    • a college course
    • an apprenticeship
    • volunteering
    • applying directly
    College

You can take a college qualification to get started, for example:
    • Level 2 or 3 Certificate in Supporting Teaching and Learning in Schools
    • Level 3 Diploma in Childcare and Education