Hi! I've type 1 diabetes + Charcot foot. Am I entitled to anything while unable to work? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi! I've type 1 diabetes + Charcot foot. Am I entitled to anything while unable to work?

Options
Mark5the_Spark
Mark5the_Spark Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Good morning,
This is my first time on this forum.
I have been a type 1 diabetic for 43 years and have currently been diagnosed with Charcot foot.
I am a self employed sole trader.
I have no medical insurance or income whilst being unable to work.
Could anyone advise of any benefits or grants that are available to me please.
Thanks Mark

Comments

• Cher_Alumni
    Cher_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,741 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @Mark5the_Spark and a warm welcome to our community, how are you keeping?

I'd recommend using the Turn2Us benefits calculator to get an indication of what you might be entitled to.  While, you might also be eligible for Personal Independence Payment which is a benefit assessed on the impact of your impairment(s) on your functional ability to carry out a range of activities around the components of mobility and daily living.  If you need any advice around applying for PIP please do ask as our members are incredibly knowledgeable about it and would be happy to help :)

Also, just to advise, I've removed the photo from your profile picture as it contained your works telephone number.  As per our house rules, personal information isn't allowed on the community and I've replaced the photo with an avatar to protect your identity.