Am I entitled to pip, or esa, have been denied UC. How can I ensure I am awarded? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Am I entitled to pip, or esa, have been denied UC. How can I ensure I am awarded?

Options
lpea
lpea Community member Posts: 25 Connected
I am a full time student who has a severe (although controlled with medication) mental illness. What benefits am I entitled to? Please help me as I am really stressed and constantly relying on mother whose on a low income. Ive have tried UC but got denied and had a work capability assessment done and sent back to ESA by me. 

Comments

• lpea
    Options
    Only sent ESA form back this week so waiting on hearing back from them. 
  • woodbine
    woodbine Community member Posts: 11,618 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    You maybe entitled to PIP if you have care and/or mobility issues that relate to the descriptors (see link below), it is not awarded purely because you have an illness/condition but how that affects you daily living:

https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/Global/Migrated_Documents/adviceguide/pip-9-table-of-activities-descriptors-and-points.pdf

2024 The year of the general election...the time for change is coming 💡

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,003 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Full time Students that have parental support can only usually claim UC if they are claiming a disability benefit like PIP/DLA and they have already been assessed as having limited capability for work. https://www.gov.uk/guidance/universal-credit-and-students