Hello. My husband's had a few falls in his nursing home. Who can I go to for support? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hello. My husband's had a few falls in his nursing home. Who can I go to for support?

Options
starshine
starshine Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited February 2022 in Start here and say hello!
Hi I am Denise. I have been caring for my husband for 11 years. He suffered a stroke, a bleed in the brain stem. 2 years ago he went into a nursing home as his disabilities got to much for me to care for him safely. The guilt never leaves me for doing so, but I was worn out. In the care home he has fracture his disabled arm and broken his hip (on his disabled side) due to falls. This week after six months from his hip operation they decided to get him on his feet and walk which was hard for him anyway. He has had no physio after his op just hoisted him.
That night I cried my eyes out. He has no way of getting back to walking the little he did before the fall. 
The questions keep going around in my head, why ??
I fell alone and helpless. Who do I go to for support and help. 
He has deteriorated so much.
Tagged:

Comments

• Sandy_123
    Sandy_123 Scope Member Posts: 51,662 Disability Gamechanger
    Options