I took voluntary redundancy and GP has signed me off work. Should I push myself to get back to work? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I took voluntary redundancy and GP has signed me off work. Should I push myself to get back to work?

tracypage
tracypage Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited March 2022 in Work and employment
Hi,
I’m a newbie to this forum, so hello to everyone.

I’ve struggled for the past few years with health issues, which have always been put down to menopause, approaching the big 60 this year.

I don’t suffer with back pain as such, just a burning sensation when standing and pain in the left hip, which I thought was due to knee replacements.

In the past 2 years I’ve been diagnosed with, WPW which has been abated, micro vascular angina, fibromyalgia, mild scoliosis and lumber spinal canal stenosis.

Currently not working but struggling with acceptance and limitations.  I took voluntary redundancy recently and MY GP has signed me off work.

Question is?? Should I be pushing my self to get back to work or just accept.
Tagged:

Comments

• Alex_Alumni
    Alex_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,562 Disability Gamechanger
    edited March 2022
    Hello @tracypage and welcome to the community, thanks for reaching out this morning :)

I think the decision about whether to get back to work is a very personal one, so it would be difficult for anyone to advise you directly.

I suppose a question I could ask you is, what do you value most?