PIP when work as a lecturer — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

PIP when work as a lecturer

Options
sheri1381
sheri1381 Community member Posts: 7 Listener
edited April 2022 in PIP, DLA, and AA
I'm very new to PIP and I have a question which I appreciate if you guide me.
I'm a part time college lecturer at the moment. I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and Rheumatoid Artheritis 2 years ago.
Unfortunately the illness has affected my function and mobility. I have problem sitting, walking, daily routines. Even writing is very painful these days. I'm fed up with pain but I feel committed to my students and it's near exams days so I have to continue but I have to drop my hours from next academic year due to my health problems.
I was advised to apply for PIP. I called yesterday and I'm now waiting for the form to arrive.But from what I read since yesterday, it is very unlikely my claim be successful as I work. I prefer to withdraw if there is no chance. Could any body advise please.Thanks a lot.
Tagged:

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    PIP is assessed on the difficulties you have carrying out the activities looked at. Lots of people work and claim PIP.
    Make sure you understand the descriptors and point scoring system
    https://www.benefitsandwork.co.uk/personal-independence-payment-pip/pip-points-system
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • Alex_Alumni