Reasonable adjustments for late diagnosis in education — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Reasonable adjustments for late diagnosis in education

Options
LostSpark
LostSpark Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hi, (this is cross-posted from education, I'm not sure if that's allowed but I'm a bit desperate right now)

Just wanted to post on here to see if anyone has had similar experiences. I was diagnosed with ADHD 6 months ago, and I'm in my final year of university (part-time). My university obviously put reasonable adjustments in place, and they've made a HUGE difference in my last module. Unfortunately, the module I did last year was 4 marks off of a higher degree classification that I ideally need for my career, which will stop me from achieving it. I spoke to my university and asked if I could appeal it, and I was told under no circumstances am I able to. However, at the time of doing this module they were made aware I was on the waitlist for an ADHD diagnosis, but they said they couldn't do anything, nor was I able to submit an extenuating circumstance form.

I feel like this is unfair, as I didn't get the support I needed to put myself on the same level as a neurotypical student, despite struggling significantly, so it seems only right that this should be taken into consideration. My late diagnosis was due to long NHS waitlists. I've noticed a lot of universities now offer a retrospective disability appeal procedure as a reasonable adjustment for students who are diagnosed late so that their overall degree classification is not impacted.