Suffer with Mental Illness, made worse by housing situation — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Suffer with Mental Illness, made worse by housing situation

Options
bilaal4d
bilaal4d Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hi there,

I am in desperate need for advice, regarding my housing situation. I am 28 years old, I am a software engineer, living in Brent (London), working in Acton (London). I enjoy my job, but the housing situation is interfering with my wellbeing, and my life overall.

I got medically diagnosed with ADHD in 2019, which was a relief but also a worry. I've been taking the prescribed medicine to treat it, which generally allows me to work as a neurotypical person does during the working day... But doesn't help much in terms of my living situation.

I live in a 5 bedroom house with 9 people, which include 3 married couples and a toddler. Despite the size, due to the sheer number of different family units in the house, I suffer as the situation aggravates a number of my difficulties, even with medication - noise levels heighten my stress, anxiety and irritability, because of the number of family units, I have very little independence in the house by way of relaxing, enjoying quiet moments, eating what I'd like to eat...