My daughter has autism. Any advice on getting her assessed for an EHCP? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

My daughter has autism. Any advice on getting her assessed for an EHCP?

Options
kelly2291
kelly2291 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited May 2022 in Education
Hi, my name is Kelly and I have a 9 year old Daughter named Jasmine. Jasmine has Autism and I have been Homeschooling her since February 2019 as she wasn't getting the support she needed in Mainstream and she didn't have an EHCP. Jasmine is at that age now where I feel she needs more and I've also noticed that she is more tolerant of  children, whereas she never used to be, so I am interested in seeing whether she would like to attend a Special School. The only problem is that she doesn't have an EHCP and with Jasmine being so anxious I know that she will not go to some random place to be assessed for however long the assessment process takes.  Any advice would be welcome and appreciated please, thank you 😊 🙏 
Tagged:

Comments

• L_Volunteer
    L_Volunteer Community Volunteer Adviser, Scope Member Posts: 7,978 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @kelly2291. Welcome to Scope's forum. It is great to see you have joined us.

I am hearing Jasmine did not receive the support she needed in mainstream so you have been homeschooling. You would like to see if Jasmine would like to attend a special school but she doesn't have an EHCP and you are wondering about your next steps.