Remaining politically neutral during General Election 2024

Under guidance from the Electoral Commission and Charity Commission, it's important that Scope remains politically neutral during General Elections.

While we understand that this period will see many passionate discussions, please make sure that your comments remain respectful of other people's opinions and keep to our online community house rules.

Would paying off my IVA and credit card with pension pot affect my UC?

Options
TheOriginalDoubleG
TheOriginalDoubleG Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited June 2022 in Universal Credit (UC)
Hello people.  I'm new to Universal Credit.  I'm looking for some help :-)

Comments

• chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,142 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @TheOriginalDoubleG - & welcome to the community. Please say what your query is about UC, & I'm sure someone will help. :)
  • TheOriginalDoubleG
    Options
    Hi @chiarieds,  I'm looking to pay off my IVA and credit card with some money from my small pension pot that is available to me in Aug.  Would this affect my UC? 
  • Biblioklept
    Biblioklept Community member Posts: 4,755 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Taking from the pension could but paying off debt isn't seen as deprivation. @calcotti is really good with universal credit and so is @poppy123456 so they may be able to help answer you <3
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 55,515 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    That's correct @Biblioklept. Savings of up to £6,000 are ignored anyway. If this amount takes your total savings on the last day of your assessment period to more than £6,000 then there's a £4.35 per month deduction for every £250 or part there of over this amount.
    Savings of more than £16,000 will end your UC and any other means tested benefits you maybe claiming.