I think my daughter has autism — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I think my daughter has autism

Options
kbel88
kbel88 Community member Posts: 13 Listener
Hello, my lovely daughter is 8 years old. I have been fighting for nearly 3 years trying to get her an assessment ( drs said it was schools responsibility, school promised twice they had sent referral then turned out they hadn’t) I know in my heart something is wrong but not sure what. She has now been referred but I’m worried she won’t even get an assessment. I filled out the SCQ and I think it scored 16/17. Communication is not the biggest problem so I’m doubting if she will be seen…

she has sensory problems, she cannot wear socks, only certain clothes (will not wear school uniform) she can’t have a towel any where near her. Even as a toddler she hated wearing clothes and pretty much lived in just a nappy. She wants ‘tight cuddles’ all the time. She cannot sit still at home, has to be jumping and crashing into everything, she watches tv hanging upside down and spinning round and round. She chews absolutely everything and will not stop eating. I know kids always want a snack but she can eat a big meal and straight after be crying that she’s hungry. She picks the skin off her feet and is always chewing her fingers.