Remaining politically neutral during General Election 2024

Under guidance from the Electoral Commission and Charity Commission, it's important that Scope remains politically neutral during General Elections.

While we understand that this period will see many passionate discussions and do not want to discourage open discussion, we cannot allow discussions which are purely intended to influence voting.

As ever, please make sure that your comments remain respectful of other people's opinions and keep to our online community house rules.
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Carers element

Options
loccy
loccy Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited October 2022 in Universal Credit (UC)
I’ve been caring for my husband since January 2019 but have just found out that I can get carers element of uc as it’s down on uc that I’m a carer for this person will it be backdated from when I first applied January 2019 uc didn’t know why I hadn’t been paid any money

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 56,976 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    You can only claim carers element if your husband is either in receipt of PIP daily living or DLA mid/high rate care. 
    If he does then you need to report a change of circumstances and tell them you care for him for at least 35 hours per week. 
    You must also not be claiming the LCWRA element for yourself because you can’t claim both elements together. 
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • mrsj42
    mrsj42 Community member Posts: 4 Listener