If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Student Benefit. Does anyone have experience of claiming UC as a disabled student?

Options
pkeith95
pkeith95 Community member Posts: 20 Courageous
edited November 2022 in Universal Credit (UC)
Hello,  I am a full time student at University, I wonder if anyone has had any experience of claiming Universal Credit as a disabled student?

Is it possible? a nightmare?
Tagged:

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 55,058 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Full time students are unable to claim UC unless they have already been found to have Limited capability for work before the course started. This also applies to disabled students. Full details here. https://askcpag.org.uk/content/207854/universal-credit-and-disabled-students-an-update
    Most students receive students loans, are you not claiming this?

I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • pkeith95
    pkeith95 Community member Posts: 20 Courageous
    Options
    Hi Poppy, Thank you for your reply. Yes I am getting my student loan, I am just looking into cost of living and what extra help there might be.

Thank you again.

PJ
  • Grizzy77
    Grizzy77 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
    Options
    Hi pkeith95,