Charity event when disabled — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Charity event when disabled

Options
KelvinUKk1
KelvinUKk1 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hi people,

I am a double stroke survivor of nearly 8 years and get full mobility allowance and reduced care allowance. One of my, many, disabilities is walking. I do this with a cane, after relearning how to walk. I take regular rests when walking, due to pain and balance. However, I would love to take part in a charity fund raiser, but am seriously concerned that this might affect my claim. Will it?

Comments

• Chaoskay
    Chaoskay Community member Posts: 74 Courageous
    Options
    Hiya @KelvinUKk1
    Firstly, welcome to the forums, I hope you enjoy looking around the site, joining in, finding support and meeting new people.  :)
    As regards how a charity fund raising campaign would affect your benefits, I'm afraid I'm no expert.  Hopefully someone more experienced will be able to advise you.
    I'd imagine how you go about the fund raising is important though.  If your claim is partly based on your problems around walking, I'd not do a sponsored hike up a mountain for example.  
    If you choose a challenge that doesn't involve have a physical aspect to it, I'd imagine you'd be ok - although you'd need to check with someone more knowledgeable than me.  
    If you need ideas about what kind of campaign you could do, feel free to ask on the forum.  I'm sure there's some fabulous ideas out there.
    Anyway, I hope that helps a little.  :)

• iza
    iza Scope Member Posts: 703 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi @KelvinUKk1, this is very good question? I never come across such ? yet.
    Logically thinking I do not see  any reason why you could not do it. You do not have to walk, bicycle . I think there is another ways of fund-raising money too.