DLA award indefinate changed to 3 years standard PIP — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

DLA award indefinate changed to 3 years standard PIP

postivepetal
postivepetal Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited January 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
HI happy 2018 everyone :smiley: . Can anyone please give me some advice? I have rhumatiod arthritis and chrohns which is severe (wheelchair bound and bed bound most days) I was awarded DLA higher rate indefinately about 10 years ago through a tribunal. The new Pip assessment came to the conclusion to put me on a standard rate and only for 3 years when my condition has not changed.. is this legal? The pip assessor came to my home and was extremely patronising ! He told me my illness can change.. being a paramedic i feel he was not qualified to assess my disability!  Any help appreciated. Thankyou  

Comments

• Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @postivepetal, and welcome! Sorry to hear about your experience, unfortunately many of our members will be able to relate. Are you looking to appeal the decision? If so, here is some appeals advice to get you started.
  • Matilda
    Matilda Community member Posts: 2,593 Disability Gamechanger
    @postivepetal

The paramedic assessor is talking nonsense, of course.  At tribunal I was awarded PIP enhanced both elements (increased from standard both elements after assessment).  And judge wrote that it would not be appropriate to set a term for my award.  Like you, I have rheumatoid arthritis, a degenerative disease that will never improve.

Have you asked DWP for a copy of the assessor's report?

Are you going to ask for a mandatory reconsideration (MR)?
  • kevin888
    kevin888 Community member Posts: 52 Courageous