Severe disability premium — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Severe disability premium

krismaxwell123
krismaxwell123 Community member Posts: 8 Listener
Hi I’d really love some help! I’ve been claiming esa IR as a joint claim with my wife since August 2013! In April 2014 I was awarded ER daily living PIP for my bipolar and anxiety! My wife then got carers for looking after me, however in sept 2016 my wife was awarded pip MR daily living for her own condition! Last week my wife done a benefits check on all the benefit check websites and done some research and apparently we’d be entitled to couples rate SDP but at the single rate as my wife gets carers for me but I do not for her. Is this extra premium something we are eligible to have added? If so is it not best for my wife to cancel carers as we’d qualify for couples SDP without losing the money off esa they take for her being my Carer? I’m really baffled and would love some help thank you

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 126 Courageous
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • krismaxwell123
    Thanks mike! So we’re best off having the single rate SDP and keeping the carers! With regards to our PIP my wife will definitely not lose hers as it’s for PTSD, depression, and anxiety! Really she should have the enhanced rate if I’m honest! Am I right I’m think the SDP should have been paid from when my wife was awarded her PIP?
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,333 Disability Gamechanger
    Thanks mike! So we’re best off having the single rate SDP and keeping the carers! With regards to our PIP my wife will definitely not lose hers as it’s for PTSD, depression, and anxiety! Really she should have the enhanced rate if I’m honest! Am I right I’m think the SDP should have been paid from when my wife was awarded her PIP?