DWP going against Tribunal — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

DWP going against Tribunal

nutsville
nutsville Community member Posts: 8 Listener
Hi I won my Tribunal appeal for ESA support and today I received phone call asking me to go in local job centre for assessment they say I have been put in work Group and not had my ESA support group reinstated can they do this after Tribunal win

Comments

• nutsville
    I think I have posted in wrong category I’m new to this someone please advise me where I should be posting
  • Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @nutsville, and welcome! I've moved this particular post to Ask a Benefits Advisor as they will be the best placed to advise you with this: somebody will hopefully be in touch soon!
  • BenefitsTrainingCo
    BenefitsTrainingCo Community member Posts: 2,621 Pioneering

Hi @nutsville

Strictly speaking, the Tribunal do not have the power to enforce a decision on the DWP, however I very very very much doubt that what is going on here is a deliberate move on the part of the DWP to go against the decision, there would have to be some extraordinarily compelling reason for them to do so, as you are very likely to lodge a formal complaint.

On that note, what I would recommend is calling the DWP and asking for a callback to explain what is going on (don't expect the person who answers the phone to be able to explain it, just calmly explain that there seems to be some confusion on your claim that needs clearing up etc), and if the person who calls you back does not explain to your satisfaction that you are being placed in the Support Group, then lodge a formal complaint in writing.