When to apply for ESA? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

When to apply for ESA?

Options
lyndylou63
lyndylou63 Community member Posts: 30 Connected
Hi everyone. This is my first time on here.

Comments

• lyndylou63
    Options
    I have been on long term sick since August . My ssp is due to end in April. I cannot go back to work as I have polymyositis which has deteriorated . I cannot go anywhere on my own as I have to use a wheelchair. When do I start an esa claim? Do I wait until my employer stops paying ssp ? Or do I wait until he dismisses me? If I quit my job through illness will I still be eligible for esa. I do receive pip .
  • Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @lyndylou, and welcome to the community! I hope we can help you.

This information is from the Citizens Advice page on ESA:

You may be able to get contribution-based ESA if:
    • you’re not getting Statutory Sick Pay (SSP) from an employer (but you can apply up to 3 months before your SSP ends - if you get ESA, it will be paid as soon as your SSP ends)
    So according to this, you should be able to begin an ESA claim now, in order to apply for payments to begin after your SSP ends. There's also some more information about the ESA process on Citizens Advice. Hope this helps and let us know if we can be of further assistance!
  • lyndylou63
    Options
    Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure when the exact date my ssp ends yet

if I am receiving pip can I get a reduction in council tax or save on energy.
  • Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi again @lyndylou63, you may like to have a look through this list of extra help and money PIP entitles you to- there are lots of additional things you might be interested in pursuing!
  • michh40
    michh40 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Options