Hello! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hello!

AmyVW
AmyVW Community member Posts: 10 Connected
Hello, my name is Amy and I am 26, i live in a small town in South Scotland. I have dyspraxia and it affects me physically, learning, emotionally and socially. I also have anxiety.
I live independently as both my parents have died, which is hard but ive done it since august 2011.
I am an Open University student in my final year to get my honours degree. I also work part time.
I am the Chair of the Board of Directors of a local cafe that gives young people with additional support needs(ASN) training in hospitality and retail. We basically want to show that they can achieve qualifications, learn new skills, make friends, have new experiences, have dreams, have ambitions and be the person the should be. While also showing local employers and the public that our young people can be a part of their community. 
If im not studying, working, at the cafe or with my friends then Im usually found around the country supporting my celebrity faves - Max Bowden, Gemma Oaten and Danny-Boy Hatchard and the Five to Five boys from The Band the Musical. 

Basically I want to change the world one little step at a time to show that young people with disabilities and ASN that they can achieve their dreams, can get education, training, employment. travel, have friends , have a social life like thier peers. We just got to change a few attitudes along the way.

Happy to help any fellow dyspraxic or a young person who is struggling.

Many Thanks Amy  :)
*Its all about seeing the ABILITY within the disABILITY*
*People who are different their time is coming* Tracy Turnblad - Hairspray 

Comments

• steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @AmyVW

It’s great to have you onboard!!!!!

“Wow” you sound very very busy!!!!!

That’s very “refreshing”