leevel 4 and 5 full time courses — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

leevel 4 and 5 full time courses

Lynfreedom
Lynfreedom Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hi im the support group of  ESA AS I CANT WORK due to 2 chronic health conditions. Can I  still  be paid esa, whilst I'm studying,  as a disabled person if not,  how am  I supposed to move forward in my chosen career path? 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,357 Disability Gamechanger
    If it's Contribution based ESA you're claiming then yes you can continue being paid this part of the ESA. Any premiums added on top will stop.

If it's Income Related ESA then you can only continue to claim the ESA if you claim DLA or PIP.

Any student loans you receive will affect any Income Related ESA also.

https://www.turn2us.org.uk/Benefit-guides/Full-time-students-and-benefits/Can-full-time-students-claim-disability-benefits

Does ESA know you're a student? If they don't then you do need to ring them to report any changes, otherwise you'll end up with an overpayment that will have to be paid back.

I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 273 Pioneering
    Hi Lynfreedom

Welcome to the Online Community.

I agree with poppy123456 and would like to clarify just a couple of points. 

Do be careful about any gap in benefit payments. If there is a gap and you live in a full service Universal Credit (UC) area, you are likely to be moved onto this benefit.

https://ucpostcode.entitledto.co.uk/ucdate