What happens to Cerebral Palsy when you age? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What happens to Cerebral Palsy when you age?

Chloe_Tear
Chloe_Tear Community member Posts: 16 Courageous

My name is Chloe Tear, I am 20 years old and am studying Psychology and Child Development. I have mild Cerebral Palsy that affects my legs and left arm, as well as being registered as partially sighted. In my free time I am a blogger and freelance writer, and have written my blog, ‘Life as a Cerebral Palsy Student’ for the last 5 years.

What do you see when you look at me? Do you see a young woman who is at university and having fun with her family and friends? Or do you see an old woman who can be hunched over with a walking stick with eyesight that’s decreasing way beyond her years?

headshot of a young woman with short brown hair and glasses wearing a stripy top and with a street of houses in the background

I hope it was the former option, yet I am likely to be the first to joke at how much of an ‘old woman’ I can be. Laughing about certain aspects of my disability may seem criminal to some. However, making light of a situation can encourage a more open outlook and make things more pleasant for yourself. At least you could call me a stylish old woman with a bright yellow stick, with yellow being 'the colour' at the moment. Although, I really don't help myself, if I look like I've stepped out of the 1950's then I'd consider that a success! Even if there is just a hint of vintage, I can't see my fashion sense changing any time soon!

I have used a walking stick for about 4 years now, but I wish I had started sooner. It really helps to alleviate pain in my hips and knees, but also can act a bit like a security blanket if I trip and nearly fall! Nonetheless, it is my stick that has made me ‘young’ again, allowing me to walk further and manage chronic pain symptoms.