Myalgic encephalomyelitis or ME/CFS — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Myalgic encephalomyelitis or ME/CFS

Options
Cazleep
Cazleep Community member Posts: 11 Connected
Does anyone suffer from this?
I have the severe end and Fibromyalgia.
How do you deal with the isolation?
Is this as common as they say? I had never heard of either and I worked as a carer in the community I looked after all kinds of people in their own homes. 

Comments

• itsmefee
    itsmefee Community member Posts: 27 Connected
    Options
    I have Fybromyalgia and ME. I was diagnosed with it in 2010. My Son also has the same diagnosis. He is fifteen now and was diagnosed at a similar time to myself. You would be surprised at how many people have it. I am guessing that once they have had it for a while, it becomes their normal kind of life so they stop talking about it.

Also people with these fluctuating conditions can be well so you may only see them on their well days but it is out there. The Isolation for me was something that I got used to as it became part of  my every day life. 

Lady Gaga recently had to cancel her tour because of Fybro, so it is not just us mere mortal that suffer from it. 

• Cazleep
    Options
    Hi, itsmefee,
    I have lived with this now for 7 years I have read about it and googled but I haven't been in a talk group like this I was just wondering how many people on here suffer from this and is there much awareness.
    As this is for chronic pain I figured all pain is bad to each individual it doesn't matter what you suffer from really so how does anyone who is isolated, housebound, bed bound, alone because of pain, how do people deal with it? 
  • Cazleep
    Options