ESA and Maintenance loan for part time student — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA and Maintenance loan for part time student

sinead92
sinead92 Community member Posts: 7 Listener
edited June 2018 in Education
I am currently studying part time with Open uni and due to start next module in  October. I also currently get income based ESA and PIP. i have heard that disabled part time students are now able to apply for maintenance loan as well as the tuition fee loan from SFE. Does anyone how the loan will affect a ESA claim, and does this mean i will lose my ESA or am i able to change to contribution based. I already know it does not affect PIP 

Comments

• northwestmum2
    northwestmum2 Community member Posts: 55 Courageous
    Also- does anyone know how it affects benefits if you are a full-time student as well please??my sons been told to apply for ESA  in october as he turns 20 but has a whole full year at college(full time) still to do- then hes looking at uni if possible but doesnt want to apply for things then jeapordise the claims.?any help please.
  • Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @sinead92 and @northwestmum2, hopefully our disabled student advisor @melaniethorley will be able to advise on this!
  • melaniethorley
    melaniethorley Community member Posts: 138 Pioneering
    Good morning Folks from a very sunny Greece....

I am sorry I cannot send you any links as I only have access to my iPad which is a bit precious with copying and pasting.

I would suggest looking the following:
    student finance England 
    Disability Rights UK
    job centre plus

if you need any more information, I return from holiday on the 18 June when I will have access to all of my resources.

I hope this helps
    Melanie
  • sinead92