Won PIP tribunal but worried DWP will appeal — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Won PIP tribunal but worried DWP will appeal

Kimbeau0709
Kimbeau0709 Community member Posts: 12 Courageous
edited June 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
I attended and won a PIP tribunal on Saturday 23rd June 2018, I have been award the standard daily living allowance from 21/09/2017 for 3 years by the tribunal.
Some of the posts I'm reading are leaving me feeling very worried about whether the tribunal decision will just be ignored by the DWP. The extra money is a welcome bonus to me especially as I didn't expect the tribunal to go my way.
I am very new to the benefits system, having to make claims for the first time this year. Does anyone have any idea how long the DWP take to let me know whether they accept the tribunal decision and action the payments, please

Comments

• Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Kimbeau0709, and a warm welcome to the community.

Congratulations on winning your appeal! Do bear in mind that people often come to our community for advice, so it may well be that people are more likely to share their negative experiences on here, rather than positive. That said, please do keep us updated: I'm sure many of our community members will be able to relate to how you're feeling.

From what others have said, it seems that the DWP usually take 5-8 weeks to put a successful tribunal decision into payment.

I wonder if @Matilda would be able to add anything here? 
  • Matilda
    Matilda Community member Posts: 2,593 Disability Gamechanger
    @Kimbeau0709

The DWP cannot ignore the tribunal's decision - it has the force of law.  They can ask for a statement of reasons and even appeal.  However, it is rare for DWP to appeal.  If they are going to ask for an SOR, you should hear within a week or two.
  • Kimbeau0709
    Hi Pippa and Matilda