Benefits nightmare — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Benefits nightmare

Poppybabe
Poppybabe Community member Posts: 6 Listener
Hi everyone,  I'm a newbie and I'm really pleased to be here.
My problem is benefits.  I was awarded esa earlier this year through a tribunal prior to this it was a year of real challenge.  I had 3 mths without any money and my mental health nurse would go to the food bank for me.  Whilst I was waiting to go to tribunal I made a claim for PIP.  The benefits agency came out and assessed me and when I receive their decision i didn't score any points so now I am waiting to go to another tribunal.  I have just applied for another pip form as my condition has got worse.  I am in the process of trying to fill it in.  I am worried about what I put in the form i.e: I listen to the radio, because they just seem to use anything against you.  I really struggle with my mobility and my mental health and at the moment I am so stressed that the emergency mental heath team have had to be called out.  I just want a relief from this anxiety and frustration of not being believed by the dwp that I am now disabled.  I have post thrombotic syndrome.  I have collected as much evidence as I can, which was a real nightmare in of itself.  I have someone representing me but he takes a big chunk of my money and he is just very negative and doesn't help the situation at all.  But trying to get help and advice that you don't have to pay for has proved very, very difficult.  Has anyone else been in this situation and if so how did you get through it?

Comments

• April2018mom
    April2018mom Posts: 2,882 Disability Gamechanger
    I’m sorry. What rate of mobility were you receiving before? If you are on the top rate then you might have a case. Talk with your CAB about this. They should be able to help you cope with this. 
  • Poppybabe