Changing from DLA to PIP — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Changing from DLA to PIP

reetmilly
reetmilly Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited July 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi
I have been claiming DLA higher rate since 2004 the benefit has always been used for a motorbility car which has enabled me to carry on working until I retired this year. The benefit has given me quality of life. I was supported in my application by my GP and Consultant at the time.
 I am now having to claim for PIP my health conditions remain the same. I was diagnosed with in 2004 with an under active thyroid fibromyalgia and severe arthritis.
since then I have had two shoulder operations one knee replacement and am due to have another knee replacement. My recovery takes much longer due to fibromyalgia my energy levels are compromised which impacts on my walking. 
I am worried the DWP don’t view fibromyalgia as a disability even though it is well documented as a systemic disease often accompanying other health conditions.
 I am confident my GP and current consultant would support my application. I would so like to hear from other people who have been in a similar situation and what would be the best way forward. I have to the 9th August to apply the Citizens Advice Bureau were very helpful the last time I claimed.

Comments

• thespiceman
    thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello  @reetmilly   Pleased to meet you welcome.

Thank you for sharing your story. Understand there will be members of our community who have similar circumstances. To your self.

Who will be touch in the future.  All I can add we are a supportive community who care and share.

May I also add have a look under Talk about Specific Conditions for information and advice. Comments from community members.  Talk chat and debate.

Add to that look at Talk about PIP may be useful.