Appeal won, but are DWP confused? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Appeal won, but are DWP confused?

Options
SwanseaJosh
SwanseaJosh Community member Posts: 8 Listener
Hello all, this is my first time on the forum! And I'm going to dive straight in and ask a few Q's...

This is regarding my mum, who receives ESA and PIP. But this is relating to her ESA.

She was/is in the support group, being basically house bound, on oxygen and suffering from a number of debilitating illnesses. 
Last February, due to illness, we missed her 'Fit for work' assessment, having contacted them to inform them of the illness, they sanctioned her. (she was receiving higher rate esa)

it has taken until April this year to get to a tribunal, after they decided to cancel the one for last June.

Long story short, the judge overturned the DWPs decision, and said that mum DID have good cause to not attend her assessment.

only today (03/08/2018), after a battle to actually get the DWP to reinstate the money owed and then regular payments, we found that they were only going to be paying the basic rate prior to assessment of 73.10 PW from the date she was sanctioned.

Am I correct in believing that, as the judge has set aside this decision, that she returns to her situation before she was sanctioned, and should receive the full amount backdated, until reassessed?

thank you

Comments

• SwanseaJosh
    Options
    I tend to waffle on... ive read this and the Q i want to ask is...

My mum has been reinstated her ESA, but it is only being back dated at a sum of £73.10 per week, as opposed to what she was originally on, before she was sanctioned.

should she be back dated the original amount and then stay on that amount until she is reassessed?
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,014 Disability Gamechanger
    edited August 2018
    Options