Been claiming PIP for 2 yrs and now need to go for a face to face? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Been claiming PIP for 2 yrs and now need to go for a face to face?

jakey
jakey Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited August 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi there I've been claiming pip for 2 years but have to go for a face to face thing.. Was wondering if they say no. And I have to appeal it will I still get paid ???

Comments

• Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @jakey

Welcome to the community!

Unfortunately I don't know the answer however I'm sure another member may know and will get in contact soon.

Ami :)
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • Yadnad
    Yadnad Posts: 2,856 Disability Gamechanger
    edited August 2018
    jakey said:
    Hi there I've been claiming pip for 2 years but have to go for a face to face thing.. Was wondering if they say no. And I have to appeal it will I still get paid ???
    You will continue to be paid PIP at your current level until a decision is made by the DWP based on the re-assessment. 
    If the decision is no then obviously your current benefit payments will stop. If you then appeal against that decision, which can now take a year to be heard, you will get no money. If you win at the Tribunal then you will be paid what you are owed from when the benefit was originally stopped.
    Personally I would now be trying to put as much money away should the worst case scenario happen. That way you would have a fund to fall back on whilst appealing. 
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,357 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,

Good luck with your assessment. As it's a review if the decision doesn't go in your favour and you lose your current award you money will stop 4 weeks after the decision is made. If a decision goes in your favour then you'll have a new award date.