Any advice — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Any advice

meema
meema Community member Posts: 24 Connected
Hi, I am new to this . I have recently had a accident that has left me with a disability . I am in the process of claiming PIP  :# stressed or what to the extent that today is the day before my pip assesment and i am so anxious and scared that I am vomiting ! Surly this is wrong that someone that is trying their best to try to get their life back together and some independence back should be made to feel like this . Any advice on getting through the assesment would be great . I keep telling myself it can't be that bad and that you only hear of the  few bad horror stories not the good ones ??? 

Comments

• Gwendoline1
    Gwendoline1 Community member Posts: 215 Pioneering
    Hiya meema, I had my assessment back in June. I had a physiotherapist doing mine, she was very nice and I felt due to my disability she was able to understand what I go through on a day to day basis. I made sure that I didn’t deviate from the fact that she is there to assess me on my daily life. I answered every question truthfully and honestly. I explained how my disability affects  me with each question she asked me. I declined the physical side because of the pain I am in and what the affect would have on me if I did so. I am not recommending you do this, It was that I couldn’t. I just wanted to point out, that is if you don’t know already, you can phone the dwp about a week or so later and request the assessment report, so long as you’re not living in Northern Ireland. Normally the award is about 4to 6 weeks later, mine was 8, so don’t be worried. I hope this as been some help for you. Good luck.????
  • meema