Reasonable adjustment issues — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Reasonable adjustment issues

jjones
jjones Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited August 2018 in Work and employment
Hi Everyone,

just found this community. I am a primary school teacher who is also partially hearing. I wear two hearing aids. Have always had positive reactions from the children I’ve taught, with lots of curiosity and respect. Unfortunately less so from the adults and senior management. I left my school this year in part because my requests for reasonable adjustments met with me being made to feel that I was asking for the world. Some people ( who should know better) are too toxic to be around! 

Comments

• Chloe_Scope
    Chloe_Scope Posts: 10,586 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @jjones and a very warm welcome to the community! Thank you for sharing this with us all. I believe it is so important to have teachers that have disability and I am so glad the children have been fairly positive about the whole thing. It is such a shame (and infuriating) that you haven't had the same experience with adults. Please do have a look around the community and get involved with anything that you find interesting. If I can help in anyway then please just let me know!
    Scope

• Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @jjones, and a warm welcome to the community!

Thanks for sharing this with us- I'm so sorry to hear about the discrimination you've faced. It would be interesting to hear more about your experiences, here on the community!
  • Markmywords
    Markmywords Community member Posts: 419 Pioneering
    Hello @jjones .

I've had experience of the intolerance of the public/education sector. I'm of the view "don't get mad, get even" though.

Remember that the law is on your side. Best of luck finding a more reasonable employer.
  • jjones